Want to Go Private on Tinder? Here's How

Want to Go Private on Tinder? Here's How
DenPhotos/Shutterstock

Want to Go Private on Tinder? Here's How

Sakshi Udavant
August 25, 2022

Want to take it slow and keep a low profile on Tinder? Found a new date and want to stop matching with new people on Tinder? You don’t have to delete your account or uninstall the app to stay hidden.

While Tinder doesn’t have an official option to make your profile private, you can still hide your account, so your profile isn’t visible to potential matches. Curious? Here’s how to go private on Tinder.

Related: How to Delete Your Tinder Profile and Account

How to hide your Tinder profile

Follow the steps below to go private on Tinder.

  1. Open the Tinder app.
  2. Go to your profile. Click the icon on the upper left corner to open your profile.

  3. Click on the “Settings” icon on the left side under your profile picture.

  4. Look for the “Show me on Tinder” option.

  5. Toggle it off if you want to stay private.
  6. Your profile will now be hidden until you toggle the option on again.

What happens when you go private on Tinder?

Turning the toggle off does not delete your profile or deactivate your account. It simply hides your profile from new matches until you choose to be visible again. Your existing matches can still see you, and you can continue current conversations, but you won’t be able to start new ones until you turn on the discovery option again.

Related: How To Protect Your Privacy On Social Media

Disclaimer: The above is solely intended for informational purposes and in no way constitutes legal advice or specific recommendations.