How to Tell If Someone Blocked You on Discord

How to Tell If Someone Blocked You on Discord
fizkes/Shutterstock

Tushar Mehta
June 13, 2022

Discord is a popular app that lets you live stream, create and join multiple servers and send good old text messages. Discord’s feature set has made it a popular app among users, and people often use the platform as a catch-all alternative to using different apps for texting, video calling and live streaming.

Discord also has a slightly steeper learning curve, and new users might find it difficult to figure out how to know if someone has blocked them on Discord. There may be times when you try to interact with your contacts but cannot reach them. If you suspect that you may have been blocked, you want to be sure before unintentionally calling out your friend.

If you are facing issues while interacting with your contacts, here are the steps on how to know if someone has blocked you on Discord:

How to tell if someone blocked you on Discord by using message reactions

Steps for Discord’s mobile version

  1. Go to any mutual server that you and your friend share which has some previous messages.
  2. React to a previous message by your friend using the message reaction option.
  3. You should see a prompt saying “reaction blocked” if your friend has blocked you on Discord.

Steps for Discord’s desktop version:

The steps above also apply to the desktop version of Discord. If your screen shakes vigorously when you try reacting to an earlier message and your reaction disappears instantly, that means they’ve blocked you on Discord.

How to tell if someone has blocked you on Discord by using the Add Friend option

Steps to add a friend on Discord’s mobile app

  1. If your friend no longer appears in your friends list, you may have been blocked by them on Discord.
  2. To verify, head over to the Friends tab at the bottom of the screen on the Discord homepage.
  3. Select the Add Friend option on the top right corner of the screen.

  4. Type your friend’s username or tag in the search bar and try sending a friend request.

If you’re blocked on Discord, you will see an error message when you search the person’s username.

Another more straightforward method to send a person a friend request is to go to a chat you have previously had with them. Then follow these steps:

  1. Tap their profile picture to open their profile.
  2. Tap the option to Add Friend
  3. If the person has blocked you on Discord, you will receive an error message like above.

Steps to add a friend on Discord’s desktop version

  1. As soon as you open the desktop version of the Discord application, you should be in the Friends section by default.
  2. Click on the Add Friend option.

  3. Search for the person’s username. The username on Discord is case-sensitive, so be sure to enter it correctly.
  4. If you see an error message asking you to recheck and enter the username correctly, the person might have blocked you on Discord.

Tell if someone blocked you on Discord by direct messaging them

Besides interacting with someone on a server, Discord allows you to send a direct message (DM) to an added friend or anyone else from a mutual server. Here is how you can find out if someone has blocked you using DMs:

Steps to DM another user on Discord’s mobile app

  1. Go to an existing private conversation with your contact.
  2. Try sending a text in the conversation.
  3. If your friend has blocked you, you should not see a sent or delivered sign in your messages. Instead, you’ll see an error saying the message was not delivered.

On the desktop version of the Discord app, you’ll see a similar message delivered by Clyde. If you wonder who that is, the next section is dedicated to Clyde.

How to tell if someone has blocked you on Discord by using the Clyde bot

Clyde is Discord’s default bot that gives you information about a ton of stuff on the app. You can quickly identify Clyde by the illustration of a robot—(which resembles the Discord logo)—in its display picture. Among many of its helpful features, it can also tell if someone blocked you—although not explicitly. Messages from Clyde appear right in the chat window, but these are only visible to you and not the other person in the chat.

Note that Clyde’s messages are only visible on the desktop versions of the Discord app and not on the mobile versions.

Steps to using Clyde to tell if you are blocked

  1. Head to a shared server that you and your contact share.
  2. Click on their profile picture and a pop-up menu will appear. Type your message in the text box at the bottom of this menu.

  3. Alternatively, go to the private chat with this person and type a message.
  4. The Clyde bot will reply with an error citing many possible reasons for not delivering the message.
  5. If none of the reasons make sense, you probably know the answer.

Conclusion

Getting blocked by anyone is tough, be it a friend or an acquaintance. Remember, Discord will never blatantly say someone has blocked you; you’ll need to follow these steps and decide on your own.

Disclaimer: The above is solely intended for informational purposes and in no way constitutes legal advice or specific recommendations.