Getting blocked on Facebook can be frustrating. The worst part? Social media platforms like Facebook don’t notify you if your account is blocked, so it can be confusing to figure out why you stopped seeing your friend’s posts. Did they block you, mute you or just stop posting?
Fortunately, there are various ways to know if someone has blocked you on Facebook. These are easy and non-invasive and just take a couple of minutes to check, so you can resolve your doubts instantly.
How can you tell if someone blocked you on Facebook?
Check the following signs to see if someone has blocked you on Facebook.
They are no longer on your Friends list
If you want an easy and fast way to see if someone has blocked you, just check your Friends list. You can find this by clicking on your profile and selecting the “Friends” tab.
If the person appears in the Friends list, they haven’t blocked you. If you don’t see their name, they have either blocked you or unfriended you.
You can’t tag them in posts
This requires a couple of extra steps but can be quite useful to know if someone has blocked you on Facebook.
Create a new post and try to tag your friend. If you can tag them, they haven’t blocked you. If you can’t select their name in the tag option, they have blocked or unfriended you.
Try to invite them to groups or events
Similar to the previous step, you can see if you can invite a friend to an event.
Select “Events” from the Facebook menu at the top right-hand corner on the Facebook website.
Then select “Create New Event” from the left-hand column.
Click on “Invite” to see if your friend’s name pops up.
If you can send them an invitation, they haven’t blocked you. If you can’t, they might have blocked or unfriended you.
Posts from them have disappeared from your feed
One of the first signs you notice if you suspect someone has blocked you on Facebook is that you can’t see their posts on your feed.
While this is an obvious and intuitive check, it isn’t the most reliable. You can stop seeing your friend’s posts in your feed for multiple reasons. Maybe they have stopped posting often, maybe you have muted them by accident or maybe the algorithm just isn’t putting their posts in front of you.
You can’t see their Facebook profile
If you haven’t seen your friend’s posts for a while, you can search for their profile in the search bar at the top.
Just type their name and see if their profile pops up. If it does, you’re good. If you can’t find them, they might have deleted their account or blocked you.
Search for their profile after logging out
If you followed the previous step and couldn’t find your friend’s profile, here’s another option for you to try. Log out of your Facebook account and search for your friend’s profile signed in as a guest.
If the person’s profile is visible when you’re logged out but doesn’t appear when you’re logged in, you’re most likely blocked.
You can’t send Messenger notes to them
Another obvious sign someone has blocked you on Facebook is that you can’t send them messages on Facebook messenger.
Just try to send them a message and see what happens. If you can’t see them in the Messenger app or get a note saying, “This person is not contactable,” you may have been blocked.
Use a friend’s account to check
If you want to see why your friend’s profile is not visible to you, you can use another friend’s account to check if you have been blocked. Just ask another friend (or relative) if they can see this person’s profile.
If the profile is visible to others and just hidden from you, you may have been blocked.
Send an email to your friend
If you want to know with absolute certainty whether someone has blocked you on Facebook, simply ask them. You can send an email or contact them on other social media platforms. Getting a direct answer may be the best way to make sure why (if at all) you have been blocked.
What is the difference between being unfriended and blocked?
Unfriending is significantly different than blocking someone from Facebook. If someone unfriends you, you can still see their profile and public posts. You may also add them as a friend again in the future. On the other hand, if someone has blocked you on Facebook, you probably won’t see their profile or posts and can’t add them as a friend again until they unblock you.
What’s the difference between blocking and muting?
Muting is completely different from blocking someone on Facebook. If you have been muted, they won’t see your posts in their feed. You both can still see each other’s profiles and posts (via search), and also send each other messages. On the other hand, if someone has blocked you on Facebook, you can’t see their profile and posts and you can’t contact them until they unblock you.
Frequently Asked Questions
How do you delete a Facebook account?
If you decide to delete your Facebook account, follow the steps below: 1. Open your Facebook app/website and open the Settings & Privacy menu. 2. Now click on Settings > Your Facebook information. 3. Then select Deactivation and Deletion.
How do you change your name on Facebook?
Changing your name on Facebook is easy. 1. Go to Settings & Privacy > Settings > Name. 2. Change the name to whatever you want it to be. Then simply save your changes.