How to Make a Private Story on Instagram

How to Make a Private Story on Instagram
Jacob Lund/Shutterstock

How to Make a Private Story on Instagram

S.E. Slack
September 19, 2022

Social media is a great way to share your experiences with others, but sometimes you don’t really want to share everything with everyone. Whether for safety reasons or just because you only want to share something with a few people, knowing how to keep social media posts under wraps is a smart move.

Once you learn how to make a private story on Instagram, you can quickly and easily share updates with only those people you select.

How do private stories work on Instagram?

A private story on Instagram is one that you share only with people you have designated instead of everyone. Most people use the messaging system to send messages, photos or videos privately, a great way to keep in touch while still keeping a strong grip on your online security.

You can also create a story to share only with people you have designated as Close Friends in the app. When you use this option, your posts are only seen by this select group and you can use the group over and over again.

Note: You can add and remove people from a Close Friends group at any time.

How to make a private story on Instagram

To send a story privately to a few select people, you message them one by one or in small, selective groups each time you share a private story with them.

Follow these steps to use messaging for sending private stories:

  1. In the app, tap your profile picture.

  2. Tap the plus sign at the top right of the page.

  3. In the pop-up menu, tap Story.

  4. From the Gallery, select an image or video. Note: You can create a new image or video instead by tapping the cog wheel and following the prompts.

  5. Once you have selected the image or video you want, it will appear on a new screen. At the bottom of the screen, tap the right arrow in the white circle.

  6. In the Share screen, tap Message.

  7. In the Message screen, tap the Group icon.

  8. Name the group if you like (but you don’t have to), then select names from your list of friends to include in the group. As you do, you’ll see them pop up at the top of your screen. When you’re finished adding people, tap the blue check mark on the top right of your screen.

Your private story has now been sent to your selected friends in the private group you just created.

Note: If you did choose to name the group, you will be able to simply select that group in the future and reduce the task of selecting individual names each time.

How to create a Close Friends story on Instagram

Using the Close Friends option to send private stories is also a way to stay safe and keep your stories limited to a select few. You do need to create a Close Friends group but, once you do, the stories you share will go to all people you have designated as a Close Friend.

To send a story privately using the Close Friends option, follow these steps:

  1. In the app, tap your profile picture.

  2. Tap the plus sign at the top right of the page.

  3. In the pop-up menu, tap Story.

  4. From the Gallery, select an image or video. Note: You can create a new image or video instead by tapping the cog wheel and following the prompts.

  5. Once you have selected the image or video you want, it will appear on a new screen. At the bottom of the screen, tap Close Friends

How do you share a private story with only one friend on Instagram

To share a private story with only one friend, select that friend when you send the story as a Message. A private story only goes to the person or people you specifically share it with when you use the Message option.

If you are using the Close Friends option, see the next section.

How do you exclude a friend or friends on private stories shared on Instagram?

To exclude people from either process, you need to do a little careful planning and pruning. If you’re going to send a private story using the Message option, just be careful about who you are selecting to receive the Story because it will go to those people you chose.

If, however, you’re going to use the Close Friends option to share your Story, you need to cull people from that group before you use the option. Otherwise, it will automatically go to everyone you have designated as a Close Friend.

Tip: Use the Instagram menu to open Close Friends and uncheck people from your list to remove them.

Note: When you add or remove people from Close Friends, Instagram does not notify the other person.

Disclaimer: The above is solely intended for informational purposes and in no way constitutes legal advice or specific recommendations.