How to Remove Yourself From a Facebook Group

How to Remove Yourself From a Facebook Group
Chainarong06/Shutterstock

How to Remove Yourself From a Facebook Group

S.E. Slack
March 8, 2021

Facebook makes it very easy to join groups of all shapes and sizes. Sometimes, though, you might join a group and realize it’s just not for you or perhaps grow tired of it after a while. The good news is that it’s almost as easy to remove yourself from a group on Facebook as it is to join one.

The steps are a little different between your desktop and mobile device; we’ve outlined both here for you.

How to Remove Yourself From a Facebook Group on Desktop

You can leave a Facebook group in just a few minutes by following these steps:

  1. Open Facebook.

  2. On the left navigation bar, select “Groups.”

    On the left navigation bar, select “Groups.”

  3. Click the group you want to remove yourself from.

    Click the group you want to remove yourself from.

  4. On the group page, find the “More” menu (the three horizontal dots) on the task bar. Click the menu to open it.

    On the group page, find the “More” menu (the three horizontal dots) on the task bar. Click the menu to open it.

  5. From the “More” menu, click “Leave Group.”

    From the “More” menu, click “Leave Group.”

  6. A pop-up window will appear asking if you are sure you want to leave the group. This is your last chance to change your mind. Note: There is a slider button you can move to request that people be prevented from inviting you to join the group again. If you want to select this option, slide the button to the right. If you don’t, just leave it as-is.

    A pop-up window will appear asking if you are sure you want to leave the group. This is your last chance to change your mind.

  7. Click “Leave Group.”

How to Delete Yourself From a Facebook Group on Mobile

If you’re on your phone when you decide to ditch a group, follow these steps:

  1. Open Facebook.

  2. Tap the “More” menu (three horizontal lines) in the upper right corner.

  3. Tap “Groups.”

    Tap the “More” menu (three horizontal lines) in the upper right corner. Tap “Groups.”

  4. Tap “Your Groups” to see the entire list of groups you belong to, including ones you manage.

    Tap “Your Groups” to see the entire list of groups you belong to, including ones you manage.

  5. From the list of groups, tap the group you want to remove yourself from.

  6. When the group page opens, tap the “More” menu (three horizontal dots) on the upper right corner.

    When the group page opens, tap the “More” menu (three horizontal dots) on the upper right corner.

  7. In the “Tools” window, tap “Leave Group.”

    In the “Tools” window, tap “Leave Group.”

  8. In the pop-up window, you have three choices. You can leave the group right now by tapping “Leave Group” or you can stop the process by tapping “Cancel.” If you wish to prevent others from adding you back to the group, tap “More Options.”

    You can leave the group right now by tapping “Leave Group” or you can stop the process by tapping “Cancel.”

  9. If you tapped “More Options” to prevent others from ever adding you back to the group, tap “Leave Group Permanently.”

    If you tapped “More Options” to prevent others from ever adding you back to the group, tap “Leave Group Permanently.”

Disclaimer: The above is solely intended for informational purposes and in no way constitutes legal advice or specific recommendations.