Can You Freeze Your Location on Find My iPhone?

Can You Freeze Your Location on Find My iPhone?
Tada Images/Shutterstock

Can You Freeze Your Location on Find My iPhone?

S.E. Slack
September 9, 2022

Tracking the location of your iPhone and other Apple devices is a great way to give yourself some peace of mind if your device is lost or stolen, but sometimes you need privacy. Perhaps you’re planning a surprise party and don’t want a family member snooping or something more serious is at stake. Knowing how to pause location on Find My iPhone can help put you into stealth mode temporarily or even permanently.

How do I pause my location on Find My iPhone?

Whatever your reasons are for not wanting others to know your location, the process to stop location finding on your iPhone (regardless of model) is pretty simple.

Follow these steps:

  1. On your iPhone, open Settings.

  2. Tap your name.

  3. Tap Find My.

  4. Slide the Share My Location button to the left until it turns gray.

Once Share My Location is grayed out, you are no longer sharing your whereabouts with others, and they cannot see where you are. You will also be limited or blocked from using Siri on HomePod and using automations in the Home app.

To return to sharing your location with others, simply follow the steps above and toggle the switch back to green.

Note: Turning off Share My Location does not turn off the Find My iPhone function; you can still use those features.

How do I block my iPhone from being tracked?

There is no guaranteed way to do this, but you can disable location services for all your apps. Sometimes using a privacy browser extension or a virtual private network (VPN) can help; you also can try carrying your iPhone in a signal blocking bag. These types of bags block GPS signals.

To disable location services for any of your iPhone apps, follow these steps:

  1. Go to Settings on your iPhone.

  2. Scroll down and tap Privacy.

  3. Tap Location Services.

  4. Confirm that Location Services are on. (The slider will be green if it’s turned on.)

  5. Scroll to the app you want to change location settings for and tap it.

  6. In the app’s screen, tap Never.

    That app is now prevented from using location tracking on your iPhone. If you wish to turn it back on, you can select the app again using the steps above and make a new selection. You need to follow this process for every app using Location Services.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I fake my location on Find My iPhone?

No, because the app ultimately needs and uses cellular data to accurately track the phone’s location. The only options you have are to turn on or off Location Services and/or GPS tracking.

Does airplane mode hide location?

Yes, because it turns off cellular data and uses Wi-Fi instead.

Can you know if someone turned off their location on Find My iPhone?

Not definitively, but it is a possibility. When using Find My and the phone is offline, the reason might be listed as the phone’s location setting have changed. It could also be shown as “Lost” on the app.

Disclaimer: The above is solely intended for informational purposes and in no way constitutes legal advice or specific recommendations.