Opt Out Instructions & FAQ


BeenVerified provides a quick and easy process to allow you to remove your information from our People Search results. Just search our database, select your record, and verify your request to opt out by clicking on the link in our verification email. After you verify, we will send you an email confirming that the record you selected has been opted out and will instruct our data partners not to return the record in future People Search results. During the opt-out process, you also may choose to create a free BeenVerified Opt-Out account to review the record(s) you have opted out on an ongoing basis.

If you would like to opt out of our People Search results Click Here

Below are answers to some frequently asked questions about our opt-out process. If this FAQ does not answer all of your questions, please feel free to contact us at privacy@beenverified.com.


How Does BeenVerified Use the Email Address I Submit Along With My Opt-Out Request?

BeenVerified only uses your email address to send you an email to verify your request to opt out, and, if you choose, to create a BeenVerified Opt-Out account to review the record(s) you have opted out on an ongoing basis. We will not sell the email address that you provide as part of the opt-out process, or use it for any other purpose, without your prior consent.


Do I Have to Be a Member or Create a BeenVerified Opt-Out Account in Order to Opt Out?

No, you do not have to be a member of BeenVerified or create a BeenVerified Opt-Out account in order to opt out of our People Search results. Creating a free BeenVerified Opt-Out account is completely optional, and if you choose to do so, you can log in to review the record(s) you have opted out by clicking here. If at any time you wish to delete your BeenVerified Opt-Out account, please send us an email at privacy@beenverified.com.


Do I Have to Pay to Remove My Record?

No, you never have to pay for the removal of your own record from BeenVerified’s People Search results.


How Long Does it Take for My Record to Be Removed?

Once you receive our email confirming that we have processed your opt-out request, your request will be reflected in our People Search results the next time our server refreshes. In most cases this will take 24 hours to take effect and then we encourage you to check for yourself.


How Can I Check to See if My Record Was Removed?

Once you have given our servers enough time to refresh (which in most cases wall take 24 hours), simply log onto BeenVerified.com and type your name into People Search. In some cases, you may need to "clear your history" in your browser just in case your computer is storing and recalling information cached prior to the opt-out. We encourage you to check to make sure your record was removed and to contact us at privacy@beenverified.com if you have any issues.


What if I Find Multiple Records About Me on BeenVerified?

We obtain and regularly update the BeenVerified People Search results with records from several different public and private databases. Although we and our data partners do our best to match these new records to the existing records in our database, there may be times when one of our data partners provides us with a new record about you that is different enough from your existing record – for example, containing different spellings, initials, combinations of information, and/or addresses – that we cannot match this new record to your existing record. In these instances, a separate record may be created in our database about you, and this new record may appear in our People Search results.

Currently, in order to prevent fraud and protect the integrity of our opt-out process, we only permit you to remove one record from our People Search results through our online opt-out process. If you find more than one record about you in our People Search results and would like to remove them all, please contact us at privacy@beenverified.com and we will be happy to help you.


When I Opt Out, Will Data About Me Ever Reappear on BeenVerified?

Once your opt-out has been processed, we will instruct our data partners not to return the record you opted out in future People Search results. At this time, we only provide an opt-out for our People Search service. Therefore, it is possible that your name might appear in search results for the other search services available through BeenVerified even after you opt out of People Search.

Further, as described above, there may be times when one of our data partners provides us with a new record about you that is different enough from your existing, opted out record that we cannot match this new record to the existing record, and therefore cannot conclusively opt out the new record. Accordingly, if you have previously opted out and see a new record about you appear in our People Search results, please contact us at privacy@beenverified.com and we will be happy to help you remove that record as well.


Our customer support team is available via phone M-F (8am-8pm EST) to help you with any questions you may have. You can also email customer support 24/7. Let us know how we can make BeenVerified even better!

Call Toll Free: 1-800-287-9815
Email:support@beenverified.com

Close